After an intense vetting exercise held on Thursday, Aug. 15, UMCAT Guild Electoral Commission (GEC) has unveiled eight candidates that will vie for the four top posts in the forthcoming elections.

The vetting of candidates was done by the GEC members led by Joshua Aliganyara, the Commission chairman. Other members are Nicholas Asingwire, the general secretary; Brenda Nantongo, the treasurer; and Jane Mary Namaganda, the publicity secretary.

Two lecturers Henry Tumwine and Balam Ankunda graced the event.

All the contenders in the election that will be held on Aug. 26 were successful. No one was eliminated during the screening exercise.

The eight candidates are distributed in the posts of Guild President, Vice Guild President, Speaker and General Secretary.

Each post has two contenders as shown below.

Guild President

Edgar David Kagimu

Israel Kaweesa

Vice Guild President

Susan Hellen Nanyondo

Whitney Flavia Kasalirwe

Guild Speaker

Sulaiman Sebugwawo

Alex Juma Tito

General Secretary

Whitney Kinalwa

Veronica Nansamba

These candidates will on Friday Aug. 23 participate in an open campaign at UMCAT Grounds.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *